Power up in Down Under

Australia is one of the world’s most exciting and promising photovoltaic markets, which was once again confirmed in the course of a number of conversations with customers during my visit last week. In all probability, after its record year in 2018, the Australian PV market will significantly grow again to 4.4 gigawatts this year. In addition to photovoltaics, storage systems are becoming ever more important, not only for independent electricity supplies for homes but also, in particular, for the power plant segment.

The Australian market is booming

When SMA first set up its sales and service subsidiary in Australia in 2007, it dealt mostly with installing off-grid systems for supplying remote settlements in the Outback. A lot has happened since then. Australia now boasts more than 9 GW of photovoltaic power. Large PV power plants gain in importance. They ensure a reliable, sustainable and cost-effective supply of electricity for tens of thousands of homes and businesses all over Australia. Last year, SMA alone commissioned inverters with a total power of 1.8 GW at Australian PV power plants.

I would call that a great milestone. It also demonstrates that in Australia, it’s not just about the price of an inverter—it’s also a matter of high quality and innovation. After all, the ambient conditions there present quite a challenge, with significant differences in temperature, high amounts of dust and some very isolated locations. The technology used thus needs to be particularly robust, reliable and easy to transport and install. As a result, almost all SMA projects in Australia use our Medium-Voltage Power Station. It combines one or two Sunny Central inverters with the appropriate medium-voltage technology as a turnkey solution in a container.

Storage systems are becoming increasingly important

The latest member of our Sunny Central family is also enjoying a warm reception on the Australian market. With the Sunny Central UP, we have boosted the power by another 50 percent to 4.6 megawatts. Furthermore, the standard version features a hardware and software configuration that integrates battery storage systems connected on both the AC and DC sides without any additional components. PV power plant operators can therefore prepare for forthcoming changes to the feed-in conditions by the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO) and also feed in electricity at higher prices in the evenings. It is no wonder that our Australian customers want to integrate battery storage systems into both new power plants and those already in place. To meet that demand, we will be fitting DC-side battery connectivity not only to the Sunny Central UP but also to all our Sunny Central inverters that we deliver to Australia this year, and, before the end of the year, we will be able to retrofit existing PV power plants with a battery system in the field.

Positive response to new partner program

Developments on the Australian utility market are not the only cause for excitement. On my visit, I also spoke to installers and distributors. They see a lot of potential in Australian homes and businesses, more and more of which are expressing an interest in obtaining their own PV systems to supply them with clean energy. The ideal solutions for them are the new Sunny Boy and Sunny Tripower inverters, which we will be launching in Australia in the months ahead. However, the main topic of discussion in our conversations was the new SMA PowerUP partner program. Australia was the first market where we rolled out the program a few months ago. SMA gives participating installers and distributors special offers, training and marketing and sales support. Our customers have given this a warm welcome and are intensifying their collaboration with SMA. I was delighted by the overwhelmingly positive feedback. I am now eager to see how other markets will respond to the partner program over the course of the year.

I am also looking forward to finding out what comes next for the Australian market. We are already tackling our next major project: SMA is delivering 57 Medium-Voltage Power Station 5500 to BELECTRIC for the Limondale Solar Farm in New South Wales. The 349-MW PV power plant is to become fully operational in 2020. I am confident that many more projects will follow in all market segments over the next few years and that we will be able to play a decisive role in making solar energy a cornerstone of the energy supply in Australia.

 

Here SMA CEO Jürgen Reinert writes about topics that move him.

 

0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Power up in Down Under

Australien gehört weltweit zu den spannendsten und vielversprechendsten Photovoltaikmärkten. Das hat sich bei meinem Besuch in der vergangenen Woche in vielen Kundengesprächen wieder einmal bestätigt. Aller Voraussicht nach wird der australische PV-Markt nach dem Rekordjahr 2018 in diesem Jahr noch einmal kräftig wachsen auf 4,4 Gigawatt. Neben Photovoltaik werden auch Speicher zu einem immer wichtigeren Thema, und zwar nicht nur zur unabhängigen Stromversorgung für Haushalte, sondern insbesondere auch im Kraftwerks-Segment.

Der australische Markt boomt

Als SMA 2007 die Vertriebs- und Service-Niederlassung in Australien gründete, wurden dort in erster Linie Off-Grid-Systeme zur Versorgung netzferner Siedlungen im Outback installiert. Seitdem hat sich eine Menge getan. Mittlerweile verfügt Australien über 9 GW Photovoltaikleistung. Große PV-Kraftwerke gewinnen immer mehr an Bedeutung. Sie stellen eine kostengünstige, sichere und nachhaltige Stromversorgung für zehntausende von Haushalten und Betrieben in ganz Australien sicher. Allein SMA hat im vergangenen Jahr Wechselrichter mit einer Gesamtleistung von 1,8 GW in australischen Solarkraftwerken in Betrieb genommen.

Ein toller Meilenstein, wie ich finde. Er zeigt auch, dass es in Australien nicht nur auf den Preis der Wechselrichter ankommt, sondern insbesondere auf eine hohe Qualität und Innovation. Schließlich sind die Umweltbedingungen mit hohen Temperaturunterschieden, viel Staub und teilweise weit abgelegenen Standorten herausfordernd. Die eingesetzte Technologie muss also besonders robust, zuverlässig, leicht zu transportieren und zu installieren sein. Deshalb wurde in fast allen SMA Projekten in Australien unsere Medium Voltage Power Station genutzt. Sie vereint ein oder zwei Sunny Central-Wechselrichter mit der passenden Mittelspannungstechnik schlüsselfertig in einem Container.

Speicher werden immer wichtiger

Auch das neueste Mitglied unserer Sunny Central-Familie wird im australischen Markt gut aufgenommen. Mit dem Sunny Central UP haben wir die Leistung noch einmal um 50 Prozent gesteigert auf 4,6 Megawatt. Außerdem verfügt er standardmäßig über eine Hard- und Softwarelösung, die sowohl AC-seitig als auch DC-seitig gekoppelte Batteriespeichersysteme ohne Zusatzkomponenten integriert. Damit können sich PV-Kraftwerksbetreiber auf bevorstehende Änderungen bei den Einspeisebestimmungen durch den australischen  Strommarktbetreiber AEMO vorbereiten und zusätzlich auch in den Abendstunden Strom zu höheren Preisen einspeisen. Kein Wunder, dass unsere australischen Kunden nicht nur in neuen Kraftwerken, sondern auch in bereits bestehenden, Batteriespeicher integrieren möchten. Wir werden dementsprechend nicht nur den Sunny Central UP, sondern auch alle anderen Sunny Central-Wechselrichter, die wir in diesem Jahr nach Australien ausliefern, mit der DC-seitigen Batteriekonnektivität ausstatten und noch vor Ende des Jahres in der Lage sein, bereits bestehende PV-Kraftwerke mit einer Batterielösung im Feld auszustatten.

Neues Partnerprogramm stößt auf positive Resonanz

Aber nicht nur die Entwicklungen im australischen Utility-Markt sind höchst spannend. Ich habe bei meinem Besuch auch mit Installateuren und Distributoren gesprochen. Sie sehen viel Potenzial bei australischen Haushalten und Unternehmen, von denen sich immer mehr mit einer eigenen Solaranlage kostengünstig mit sauberem Strom versorgen möchten. Für sie bieten die neuen Sunny Boy- und Sunny-Tripower-Modelle, die wir in den kommenden Monaten in den australischen Markt einführen werden, optimale Lösungen. Hauptthema bei unseren Gesprächen war aber das neue SMA Partnerprogramm PowerUP. Australien war der erste Markt, in dem wir das Programm vor einigen Monaten ausgerollt haben. Installateure und Distributoren, die daran teilnehmen, erhalten von SMA spezielle Angebote, Trainings, Marketing- und Vertriebsunterstützung. Das kommt bei unseren Kunden sehr gut an, und sie intensivieren ihre Zusammenarbeit mit SMA. Das durchweg positive Feedback hat mich sehr gefreut. Jetzt bin ich schon gespannt darauf, wie das Partnerprogramm im Laufe des Jahres in weiteren Märkten aufgenommen wird.

Genauso gespannt bin ich darauf, wie sich der australische Markt weiter entwickelt. Unser nächstes großes Projekt nehmen wir hier schon in Angriff: SMA liefert 57 Medium Voltage Power Station 5500 für die Limondale Solar Farm in South Wales an BELECTRIC. Das 349 MW-PV-Kraftwerk soll 2020 vollständig in Betrieb gehen. Ich bin mir sicher, dass in den kommenden Jahren viele weitere Projekte in allen Marktsegmenten folgen werden und wir entscheidend dazu beitragen können, dass Solarenergie in Australien zu einer wesentlichen Säule der Energieversorgung wird.

 

Hier schreibt SMA Vorstandssprecher Jürgen Reinert über Themen, die ihn bewegen.

 

Power up in Down Under
5 (100%) 6 vote[s]

Tags:
0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>