Room 4 dOCUMENTA

This post was originally published in 2012. The tips and techniques explained may be outdated.

What art means to me? Expression, being open to new things, having a broadened horizon and breaking with convention and the day to day. Discovering new things and allowing yourself to just go with the flow.
The dOCUMENTA is coming to our city in 2012 and bringing the feeling of artistic freedom and openness along with it. Perhaps, I should thank this feeling for inspiring me to spontaneously rent out one of our rooms to people interested in seeing the dOCUMENTA. We had barely put the ad up when we got the first call. Two days later, we had our second renter. The first is a woman, but I don’t know if she is young or old. The second is a man, but the only thing we know about him is that he’s from Innsbruck and owns an art gallery there.
The closer we get to dOCUMENTA, the more excited we get. We are getting excited about the people we will host and the experiences we’ll have, whether good or bad. Perhaps, we’ll meet eccentric painters or grumpy sculptors, passionate photographers or party-crazed art students. And perhaps out of these many guests, we’ll even make a lasting friend or two. Perhaps not, but I’m at least very excited to find out. I’m not only looking forward to our guests, but also the breath of fresh air dOCUMENTA brings to our city. I know it’s already arrived for me!

0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Room 4 dOCUMENTA

Dieser Artikel erschien 2012. Die Tipps und Techniken können möglicherweise veraltet sein.

von Lena Neumann (Gastbeitrag), 

Was Kunst für mich bedeutet? Aufklärung, offen sein für Neues, über den Tellerrand schauen und sich von Konventionen und dem Alltag lösen. Neues kennenlernen und sich auf das oder den Anderen einlassen.

Mit dem Jahr 2012 kommt die dOCUMENTA in unsere Stadt und mit ihr auch die Gefühle von künstlerischer Freiheit und Offenheit. Vielleicht verdanke ich es genau diesen Gefühlen, dass wir uns kurzerhand entschlossen haben, eines unserer Zimmer privat an dOCUMENTA-Interessierte zu vermieten. Kaum hatten wir das Inserat eingestellt, kam auch schon prompt die erste Anfrage. Zwei Tage später die zweite. Die erste Mieterin ist eine Dame – ob jung oder alt – keine Ahnung. Der zweite Mieter ein Mann. Auch über ihn wissen wir nicht viel. Nur, dass er aus Insbruck kommt und dort eine Gallerie besitzt.

Umso näher die Tage rücken, desto gespannter sind wir. Gespannt auf die Persönlichkeiten, die uns erwarten, auf die Erfahrungen, die wir machen werden. Vielleicht gute, vielleicht schlechte. Vielleicht lernen wir exzentrische Maler, grummelige Bildhauer, lebenslustige Fotografen oder partywütige Kunststudenten kennen. Und vielleicht ergibt sich auch aus dem ein oder anderem Gast eine richtige Freundschaft. Vielleicht auch nicht. Wir werden sehen. Ich bin zumindest sehr gespannt. Nicht nur auf unsere Gäste, sondern auch auf den Wind, den die dOCUMENTA in unsere Stadt bringt. Die erste Brise ist schon bei mir angekommen.